Report of the Delegates to the 2024 NJAFP House of Delegates
Lauren V. Carruth, MD – Delegate
Salvatore Bernardo, MD – Delegate
May 3, 2024

The 2023 AAFP Congress of Delegates was held in Chicago, Illinois in October. New Jersey did not have any resolutions to bring to the Congress of Delegates. Additionally, after the reference committees met and announced their recommendations, very few resolutions were extracted for debate. Most of the delegates' time was spent discussing the Recommendations of the Special Committee on Elected Leadership Nomination Processes.

There has been a lot of discussion on the applicant pool for AAFP leadership. A Task force was created and recommended the creation of a Nominations Committee with all support for candidacy coming from the AAFP. The goal of the committee is to review ways to increase access to leadership and governance opportunities and to encourage multiple candidates to pursue opportunities at the AAFP. A lot of debate on the floor was the makeup of the committee members, including, for example, who would be chair, who would be able to nominate committee members, the applicant process, etc. After vigorous debate the following was confirmed:

- The first chair of the Nominations Committee confirmed by the Congress is past President Dr. Reid Blackwelder, associate dean for graduate medical and continuing education at East Tennessee State University's Quillen College of Medicine.
- There will be three voting members from each of the following groups: past and current COD delegates and alternates, past AAFP directors, at-large members nominated by chapters, and members of the NCCL Advisory Groups from the previous three years.
- Every candidate will be approved by the committee and receive the same level of campaign assistance from the AAFP and not from state chapters in pursuit of fairness.
- Dr. Mary Campagnolo was elected to sit on the Nominations Committee.

Dr. Mary Campagnolo had a wonderful campaign for AAFP President-Elect and the support of the NJAFP attendees at the Congress was very much appreciated. Dr. Jennifer Brull of Fort Collins, CO was ultimately elected as the Academy's President-Elect. Dr. Steven Furr is the new President and Dr. Tochi Iroku-Malize ended her term as president and assume the role of AAFP Board chair. The three Directors elected were Dr. Sarah Sams of Columbus OH, Brent Smith of Cleveland MS, and Jeffrey Zavala of Billings, MT. New physician Board member is Dr. Matthew Adkins of Columbus OH, Resident Board member is Dr. Janet Nwaukoni of Lake Forest IL, and Student Board member is Taree Chadwick of Reno NV. Drs. Russel Kohl and Daron Gersch were re-elected as speaker and vice speaker, respectively.